Let’s Get this Regret Party Started!

Hunt and Peck? Good luck.

Hunt and Peck? Good luck but bring the carafe of coffee, Pandora Radio, Jim Beam, daddy's going to need it!

Punditdad has an inner image of himself, much like you, the valuable reader has an image of yourself. We have visions of our lives–both in the future and in the past.  Although we live day to day, we see the possibility of many paths before us and our choices in taking them.  Sometimes we are happy about those choices, sometimes we regret them or put them aside for another day.  When we put those choices or dreams or goals aside for too long, what happens to them? Do they disappear or become disappointments? I’ve been thinking about those goals and maybe making a few new ones that have been sitting around in the shadows.

I started this blog to start writing and to help me think about the challenges to being a parent, and as a corollary, the issues that surround our policy to families and children as I began helping raise our first.  There is still a huge election in 40 days and the movement in Washington DC is furious. I don’t feel right now that i can tell you anything about the current situation except to watch the debates and you knew that didn’t you?

Here’s how my recent trouble started. I try to go to other blogs and leave funny, snarky and playful comments and compliments so other bloggers will come to my site and send some of their readership my way. It’s also helpful to see what people are thinking about parenting though most have children older than the Bean.  The other day I left some brief comments on Mr. Lady’s site Whisky in My Sippy Cup when she talked about writing a book here. She mentioned the term NaNoWriMo but I didn’t click on the hyperlink so I didn’t really understand what the hell she was talking about. You know, you read a word but it doesn’t register and you don’t think about it.  In fact, though I read her blog entry, I didn’t UNDERSTAND it.  I had thought about writing a screenplay recently and was starting to read movie screenplays and their “inner workings” but her novel idea went WHOOSH right over my head. Didn’t care, didn’t notice. Move. On.

Yesterday somehow, in that serendipitous way the internet works, I found my way to THAT NaNoWriMo site through another link and was entranced. You can see it here. I swear the friggin Internet gods have a plan man!

What’s the point of NaNoWriMo? All those lazy asses out there who say they have one good book in them need a way to get it out of them and put it to paper in 30 days. To unleash the shackles of all the “could have’s” and put 50,000 words down no matter what. Doesn’t have to be Cormac McCarthy or even Jackie Collins, but it’s gotta be the length of a novel.  I love it. Fuck. Yes.

Aside: Wednesday I went to the doctor as a regular checkup. Because I have a specific condition that needs consistent monitoring so it’s pretty normal for me to see the Doc about every 4 months. I came through with flying colors and left elated. Not only was I doing great but I was thinking about how much better physically I had/could become, even better than I am now (which is the best shape I’ve been in my life).  I’ve recently started thinking about running the San Diego Rock’n Roll marathon next spring. It wouldn’t be my first marathon, in fact it would be my 3rd! My other times were sucky but when you run a marathon, it’s usually 26.5 miles further than a lot of other people have run and it’s something you never forget…and certainly never regret.

So here I am at NaNoWriMo after thinking about running the San Diego marathon. Could I write a novel in 30 days? Could I run a marathon in a few months? Fuck ya. The novel wouldn’t be worth the .txt file it’s written on but for the rest of my life I would be a novelist just like I’m a marathoner.   My marathon time, if I ran a good race would be over 4 hours.  Good enough. In the American way, I tried to solve my obstacles through purchasing–I bought some crap to help me out. Already have the marathon books somewhere.  I ordered the book they suggest on Amazon for NaNoWriMo entrants, a week by week accounting of what to do and how much to write. They suggest 20,000 words in the first week. I can do that. This blog reads at 500 words and it’s taken me 20 minutes to type.  Glass half full you know?

Am I fooling myself that I can do both?

Do we set goals to keep us going or do we really believe in ourselves? Follow through is the critical step right sports fans? As a the Butthole Surfers say, “it’s better to regret something you have done, than to regrets something you haven’t done.” Let’s get this regret party started!

I have an idea, a plot and a storyline. Just need scenes and to construct how the characters think. I need to start running and get some new New Balance shoes. There’s a lot of work to do and little time to do it. Thankfully the bean sleeps 4 hours a day and 12 at night straight through. I’ll keep the 2 or 3 people who read this blog updated on the book, the training and the bean as it continues. Thanks for reading my blog. If you would like your blog on my blogroll, email me at punditdad@gmail.com.

4 Responses

  1. I had a goal to run a 10K a year after E was born. Now, a year later, I am running one this Sunday. I hope I can do it. I ran 5.92 miles last weekend, and nothing since (as per a certain doctor friend’s advice). You can do it PunditDad… set a goal, but break up that goal into little pieces (right now yours are both really big).

    For example, I write papers, for scientific journals, including … Science. One paragraph at a time… 2 sentences a day. Because at the end of the day, you have two more sentences than you started the day with…

  2. Four hours a day? How old is your Bean-o? My kids four months and I’m lucky if he does three. And it takes me a few days to write a post. But I’m just slow like that, and not to mention rewriting it a few times as if I was turning in a college essay.

  3. I’m totally going to DO THAT SHIT this year. You can be my buddy if you want. We could do it together. WANNA?

  4. I like your style Pundit Dad. You’re a little funny and you think like me .

    I so want to do that. I so won’t, because I’d have to pull 40 more hours a week out of my ass and I haven’t any left. The blogging has turned into a j-o-b.

Leave a Reply

