No SAHD is an Island

The paradigm of the SAHD compels that there be a mommy (or another daddy) making another type of sacrifice to make the family successful.  Such is the case of Punditdad.  I would be lost in life and without the greatest love of my life if I didn’t have PunditMommy.  With that in mind, I wanted to spend a little time “counting our blessings” as we call it at the PunditEstate.

Mommy and Daddy have been married more than 7 years.  The years have gone by quickly but they’ve been full of laughter, adventure and many changes. We’ve moved several times across the country and adapted to new environments with a smile.  We’ve left long-time friends and familiar places for new faces — a tough proposition sometimes. How? By being each others’ best friends and closest confidantes. When we decided to have a family, we talked and talked and talked about how we would make it work and want we most wanted out of the experience. Punditdad had a great job but Mommy’s job relocation to the Golden State created an opportunity to have me stay home and oversee the Bean while Mommy went to work.

Punditdad feels eternally grateful to Mommy for her sacrifice, love, understanding and humor in going to work. Her strong work ethic and drive make Punditdad seem small by comparison and often I wonder how I could have married such a person of such gargantuan intelligence, kindness and love.  Many times she is deeply sad to leave for work in the morning and I know it. Yet, sometimes I’m jealous she gets to leave the house.  It’s common for us to want to exchange roles.  It’s a very practical realization that sometimes she has the better role and sometimes I do. We are both doing what we think is best for our family right now. It can be a difficult path but we talk it out and we share what makes us frustrated so we can both be successful. It ain’t easy but Punditdad would rather talk than have a marriage full of inner anger and silent resentment — things that seem to increase the more you put children into a marriage and the need for sacrifice becomes even larger.

My blessing is my beautiful wife who has worked so hard and cared so deeply and sacrificed so much that I can sit here and type these words. I hope she knows how much I love her and how much I want her to be proud of me as a father and a SAHD.  She works so hard –she sets expecations very high!

No SAHD is an island and no family can be successful unless everyone works together because we are all in it together.  Thankfully I get to “work” with a wonderful and beautiful woman who understands me, tolerates me and continues to let me “be” me everyday. Punditdad has much to be thankful for and many blessings to count.

3 Responses

  1. What a nice entry! And you do have a particularly awesome wife, punditdad.

  2. What did Punditdad do wrong?

  3. I concur.

    Working full time to financially support a family is a tremendous sacrifice for one to take upon themself. Certainly we owe a great deal of gratitude to our working wives. And what a sacrifice they also make by not being home with their kids. We are indeed blessed.

Leave a Reply

